0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

[2] > Image [2] of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1980-03-apr1.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

-2- and is now being used at a number of cancer centers around the world. President Singletary noted also that the awards to researchers through the University of Kentucky Research Foundation for the first seven months of the current fiscal year is almost one million dollars greater than the amount received for the same period a year ago. Upon recommendation of President Singletary, the Chairman received the report and ordered it filed. E. Recommendations of the President (PR 2) On motion by Governor Chandler, seconded by Mrs. Hermansdorfer, and passed, PR 2, Recommendations of the President, was approved and ordered made an official part of the Minutes of the meeting. (See PR 2 at the end of the Minutes.) F. Supplemental Recommendations of the President (PR 3a) President Singletary recommended that approval be granted for awarding the honorary degree of Doctor of Letters to Mrs. Harriette Louisa Simpson Arnow, and the Doctor of Laws to Mr. Edward F. Prichard, Jr. The Committee on Honorary Degrees has recommended to the Graduate Faculty and the University Senate that honorary degrees be awarded to these persons and these two bodies have expressed their approval of the recommendation. Governor Chandler asked that the record show he was casting his vote against the awarding of the degree to Edward F. Prichard, Jr. On motion by Mr. Griffin, seconded by Mr. Clay, and passed, PR 3a was approved. Mr. Sturgill asked that the record show the chair voted "no". (See PR 3a at the end of the Minutes.) G. Supplemental Recommendations of the President (PR 3b) President Singletary called attention to the items in PR 3b and noted the recommendation of the reappointment of Mrs. Sally Hermansdorfer and Mr. Barney Tucker as members of the Council of Supervisors, University Hospital, for three-year terms which would expire December 31, 1982, and the appointment of Mr. Ershal Harrison as the student member of said Council. Also included in PR 3b is the recommendation of the appointment of Dr. Ernest W. Chick as Interim Director of the Tobacco and Health Research Institute, pending the selection of a permanent successor to Dr. John P. Wyatt. Dr. Singletary also called attention to the recommendation that Dr. John S. Thompson be appointed professor, with tenure, in the Department of Medicine, and that he be named Chairman of the Department of Medicine, effective July 1, 1980. President Singletary commented that Dr. Thompson is an especially talented and gifted physician, and administrator, and believes the University of Kentucky is extremely fortunate in being able to recruit Dr. Thompson. On motion by Mr. Black, seconded by Mr. Homer Ramsey, and passed, PR 3b was approved. (See PR 3b at the end of the Minutes.) H. 1979-80 Budget Revisions (PR 4) The budget revisions recommended in PR 4 being of a routine nature, President Singletary recommended approval. On motion by Mr. Kessinger, seconded by Mr. Farmer, and passed, the budget revisions recommended in PR 4 were authorized and approved. (See PR 4 at the end of the Minutes.)