0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1986-03-apr1.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, April 1, 1986. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time) on Tuesday, April 1, 1986 in the Board Room on the 18th floor of the Patterson Office Tower on the Lexington Campus. A. Meeting Opened and Roll Called Mr. Albert G. Clay, Vice Chairman, presided in the absence of Chairman Robert T. McCowan and called the meeting to order at 1 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time). The invocation was pronounced by Governor Albert B. Chandler. The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Mr. William R. Black, Mr. John S. Cain, Professor Timothy A. Cantrell, Governor Albert B. Chandler, Mr. Albert G. Clay, Mr. Tracy Farmer, Mr. Ronald G. Geary, Mr. George W. Griffin, Mrs. Edythe Jones Hayes, Mr. Henry E. Hershey, Mr. Brereton C. Jones, Mr. R. Larry Jones, Professor James D. Kemp, Mr. T. A. Lassetter, Mr. W. Bruce Lunsford, Mr. Frank Ramsey, Mr. James L. Rose and Mr. Bobby Watson. Absent from the meeting were Mr. Robert T. McCowan and Professor Constance P. Wilson. The University administration was represented by President Otis A. Singletary; Mr. James 0. King, Vice President for Administration; Chancellors Peter P. Bosomworth, Art Gallaher, and Charles T. Wethington; Dr. Raymond R. Hornback, Vice President for University Relations; Mr. Edward A. Carter, Associate Vice President for Planning and Budget; Mr. John C. Darsie, General Counsel; Mr. Henry Clay Owen, Controller and Treasurer; and Dr. Paul G. Sears, Special Assistant for Academic Affairs. Members of the various news media were also in attendance. A quorum being present, the Chairman declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:04 p.m. B. Minutes Approved On motion made by Mr. Larry Jones, seconded by Mr. Farmer and passed, the Minutes of the March 4 meeting of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees were approved as written. C. President's Report to the Trustees (PR 1) President Singletary reviewed briefly some of the items in his monthly report to the Trustees, and said he was pleased to announce that Dr. Charles W. Byers, Professor in the Department of Vocational Education, will serve a second term as Academic Ombudsman. He also announced the selection of Dr. Joseph A. Bryant, Jr., Professor in the Department of English, as the Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor for 1986-87, and the selection of Dr. Jacqueline A. Noonan as one of the "Best Women Doctors in America" by Harper's Bazaar magazine.