ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

[3] > Image [3] of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 2001-03-apr3.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, April 3, 2001. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, April 3, 2001 in the Board Room on the 18th floor of Patterson Office Tower. A. Meeting Opened Billy Joe Miles, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m., and the invocation was pronounced by Ms. Marian Sims. B. Roll Call The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Governor Edward T. Breathitt, Mr. Paul W. Chellgren, Ms. Marianne Smith Edge, Mr. James Glenn III, Mr. John "Jack" Guthrie, Dr. Loys L. Mather, Dr. Robert P. Meriwether, Mr. Billy Joe Miles (Chairman), Dr. Elissa Plattner, Mr. Steven S. Reed, Dr. Daniel R. Reedy, Mr. C. Frank Shoop, Ms. Marian Sims, Ms. Alice Sparks, Dr. W. Grady Stumbo, Ms. JoEtta Y. Wickliffe, and Mr. Russell Williams. Absent from the meeting were Mr. Merwin Grayson, Mr. Billy B. Wilcoxson and Ms. Elaine Wilson. The University administration was represented by President Charles T. Wethington, Jr.; Chancellors James W. Holsinger and Elisabeth Zinser; Vice Presidents Fitzgerald Bramwell, Joseph T. Burch, Ben W. Carr, George DeBin and Eugene Williams; Mr. Larry Ivy, Director of Athletics, and Mr. Richard E. Plymale, General Counsel. Members of the various news media were also in attendance. A quorum being present, the Chairperson declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:07 p.m. C. Consent Agenda Mr. Miles stated that there were five items on the consent agenda: Approval of Minutes Reappointment to Board of Directors of The Fund for Advancement of Education and Research in the University of Kentucky A. B. Chandler Medical Center (PR 6A) New Degree Program in Early Childhood Education (AACR 1) Change in Name of an Educational Unit (AACR 2) Change in Name of an Educational Unit (AACR 3) Dr. Reedy noted one correction that needed to be made in the March 6, 2001 Minutes. Ms. Sparks commented on the new degree program in Early Childhood Education at Lexington Community College and its importance to the Commonwealth of Kentucky. She thanked Dr. James Kerley and Dr. Retia Walker for their collaboration in this effort. Mr. Shoop moved approval of the Consent Agenda. The motion, seconded by Ms. Sims, carried. (See PR 6A, AACR 1, AACR 2 and AACR 3 at the end of the Minutes.)