0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1978-02-apr4.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, April 4, 1978. The University of Kentucky Board of 'rustees met in regular statutory session on Tuesday, April 4, 1978, at 2:00 o'clock (Eastern Standard Time) in the Board Room on the 18th floor of the Patterson Office Tower on the Lexington campus with the following members answering the call of the roll: Mr. William B. Sturgill, Chairman, Professor Michael Adelstein, Mr. William R. Black, Mr. L. D. Gorman, Mrs. Betty Carol Clark, Mr. Albert G. Clay, Governor Albert Benjamin Chandler, Mr. John R. Gaines, Mr. George W. Griffin, Mr. James W. Newberry, Mrs. Sally Hermansdorfer, Mr. Thomas B. Kessinger, Mr. Zirl A. Palmer, Mr. Frank Ramsey, Mr. Homer Ramsey, Professor Paul G. Sears, Dr. David A. rHull, and Dr. John R. Woodyard. Absent from the meeting was Mr. Richard E. Cooper who remains a member of the Board since his replacement has been named but has not qualified. The University administration was represented by President Otis A. Singletary, Vice Presidents Lewis W. Cochran, Robert Zumwinkle, Stanley Wall, Peter P. Bosomworth, Raymond R. Hornback, John T. Smith, Jack C. Blanton, and Donald B. Clapp; Dr. W-irberly C. Royster, Dean of the Graduate School and Coordinator of Research; and Mr. John Darsie, Legal Counsel. A. Meeting Opened The meeting was called to order by the Chairman at 2-00 p.m. Following the invocation, pronounced by Mr. Black. Mr. Sturgill took a few minutes to assess the Board's stewardship during the past year. A copy of his remarks is included at the end of the minutes. B. Oath of Office and Roll Call After explaining that Mr. W. B. Terry (named by Governor Carroll on December 21, 1977, for a four year term ending December 31, 1981, to replace Mr. Richard E. Cooper whose term expired December 31, 1977) was ill and unable to be at the meeting, Mr. Sturgill asked Mr. Darsie to administer the oath of office to Mr. Homer W. Ramsey, reappointed by Governor Carroll for a second four-year term ending December 31, 1981, and Mr. Frank Ramsey, reappointed as alumni member by Governor Carroll for a term ending December 31, 1981.