0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1971-04-apr6.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Statutory Meeting of the Board of Trustees, Tuesday, April 6, 1971 The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met in statutory session on Tuesday, April 6, 1971 in Room E on the 18th floor of the Patterson Office Tower on the University campus with the following members present: Mr. Jesse M. Alverson, Mr. Thomas P. Bell, Mrs. Rexford S. Blazer, former Governor Albert B. Chandler, Mrs. Robert 0. Clark, Mr. Albert G. Clay, Mr. Richard-E. Cooper, Mr. Eugene Goss, Mr. George W. Griffin, Mr. J. Robert Miller, Mr. Floyd H. Wright, non-voting faculty members, Dr. Robert W. Rudd and Dr. Paul G. Sears, and non-voting student member, Mr. Scott Wendelsdorf. Absent from the meeting were Governor Louie B. Nunn, Mr. Wendell P. Butler, Dr. N. N. Nicholas, and Mr. James H. Pence. Representatives from the University administration were: President Otis A. Singletary; Vice Presidents Alvin L. Morris, Lewis W. Cochran, A. D. Albright, Glenwood L. Creech, Robert G. Zumwinkle, Stanley Wall, Peter P. Bosomworth, and Lawrence E. Forgy; Dr. Donald B. Clapp, Budget Director; and Mr. John C. Darsie, Legal Counsel. Representatives of the various news media were also in attendance. A. Meeting Opened Mr. Albert G. Clay, Vice Chairman of the Board presiding in the absence of Governor Nunn, called the meeting to order at 2:07 p. m. Mr. Clay pronounced the invocation. The Secretary reported a quorum present and Mr. Clay declared the meeting open for the official conduct of business at 2:09 p. m. B. Committee Appointed to Determine Mr. Wendelsdorf's Eligibility Mr. Clay requested the following members to serve as a committee to determine whether Mr. Scott Wendelsdorf, newly elected and qualified President of Student Government, satisfied the requirement under KRS 164. 130 (3) that the non-voting student member shall maintian permanent residency in the Common- wealth of Kentucky: Mr. Eugene Goss, Chairman, Mr. Thomas Bell and Mr. George Griffin. Mr. Clay requested that the committee withdraw immediately to discuss the matter with Mr. Wendelsdorf and the University's Legal Counsel, Mr. John Darsie. Matters requiring Board action would be deferred pending the report of the committee. C. Resolution on Stephen Bright Adopted At the request of Mr. Clay, Mrs. Robert Clark read a resolution on Mr. Stephen Bright, the outgoing President of Student Government and non-voting