0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Brent Spence papers, 1930-1962, 1943-1962

details | guide | text


Processed by: Archives Staff ; machine-readable finding aid created by:Eric Weig


Brent Spence papers, 1930-1962




University of Kentucky Special CollectionsLexington, Kentucky 40506


Arranged chronologically by year and thereunder folders are arranged alphabetically by title and grouped into general and legislation sections.

Conditions Governing Access note

Collection is open for research.

Preferred Citation Note

[Identification of item], Brent Spence papers, 1930-1962, 1943-1962, 1M63M300, Special Collections, University of Kentucky.


81 cubic ft.


Legislator, Lawyer. Spence was born in Ft. Thomas, Kentucky and was elected as a democrat to represent the old sixth district of Kentucky in the 72nd Congress in 1930. He was reelected for sixteen consecutive terms, serving until his retirement in 1962. In 1943 Spence became chairman of the Committee on Banking and Currency, an office he held until his retirement, except during the republican controlled 80th and 83rd Congresses, when he was ranking minority member of the committee.

Scope and Content

This collection includes constituent correspondence, extensive files on service academy appointments, service cases and Veterans Administration records. There is considerable material on general legislation, usually filed at the end of the year, by subject, or under the name of the committee to which the bills were referred. In addition to papers related to the work of the Committee on Banking and Currency, there are bound copies of hearings, reports and public laws on committee legislation concerned with tobacco, price control, housing, banking and monetary matters.

Correspondents in the Spence papers include: Dean Acheson, Alben Barkley, Bernard Baruch, James Byrnes, John Sherman Cooper, Douglas Dillon, James A. Farley, Averill Harriman, J. Edgar Hoover, Cordell Hull, Estes Kefauver, John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, Fiorella LaGuardia, Scott W. Lucas, John W. McCormack, George Meany, Sam Rayburn, Walter P. Reuther, Nelson Rockerfeller, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Dean Rusk, Adlai E. Stevenson, Stuart Symington, Herry Truman, Fred Vinson and governors of Kentucky and political leaders of Mr. Spence's district.


  • Acheson, Dean, 1893-1971.
  • Barkley, Alben William, 1877-1956.
  • Baruch, Bernard M. (Bernard Mannes), 1870-1965.
  • Byrnes, James Francis, 1879-1972.
  • Cooper, John Sherman, 1901-
  • Dillon, C. Douglas (Clarence Douglas), 1909-
  • Farley, James Aloysius, 1888-1876.
  • Harriman, W. Averell (William Averell), 1891-1986.
  • Hoover, J. Edgar (John Edgar), 1895-1972.
  • Hull, Cordell, 1871-1955.
  • Kefauver, Estes, 1903-1963.
  • Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963.
  • Kennedy, Robert F, 1925-1968.
  • La Guardia, Fiorello H. (Fiorello Henry), 1882-1947.
  • Lucas, Scott, 1937-
  • McCormack, John W, 1891-
  • Meany, George, 1894-
  • Rayburn, Sam, 1882-1961.
  • Reuther, Walter, 1907-1970.
  • Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.
  • Rusk, Dean, 1909-
  • Spence, Brent, 1874-1967.
  • Stevenson, Adlai E. (Adlai Ewing), 1900-1965.
  • Symington, Stuart, 1901-
  • Truman, Harry S, 1884-1972.
  • Vinson, Fred M, 1890-1953.
  • United States.--Congress.--House.--Committee on Banking and Currency.
  • United States.--Veterans Administration.
  • Banks and banking--United States.
  • Lawyers.
  • Legislators.
  • Broadsides.
  • Reports