0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1994-02-mar1.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, March 1, 1994. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, March 1, 1994 in the Board Room on the 18th floor of Patterson Office Tower. A. Meeting Opened Governor Edward T. Breathitt, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m., and the invocation was pronounced by Mrs. Marian Sims. B. Roll-Call The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of theroll: Governor Edward T. Breathitt, (Chairperson), Mr. Paul W. Chellgren, Mr. Robert N. Clay, Mr. Lance Dowdy, Mr. James F. Hardymon, Professor Loys L. Mather, Dr. Robert P. Meriwether, Dr. Elissa Plattner. Dr. Deborah Powell, Mr. C. Frank Shoop, Mrs. Marian Moore Sims, Professor John Sistarenik, Jr., Mr. William B. Sturgill, Mr. Daniel C. Ulmer, Jr., Mrs. Lois C. Weinberg, Mr. Martin Welenken, Mr. Billy B. Wilcoxson, and Judge Henry R. Wilhoit, Jr. Absent from the meeting were Mrs. Kay Shropshire Bell and Mr. Henry L. Jackson. The University administration was represented by President Charles T. Wethington, Jr.; Chancellors Peter P. Bosomworth, Ben W. Carr, Jr. and Robert E. Hemenway; Vice Presidents Joseph T. Burch, Edward A. Carter, Donald B. Clapp, and Delwood Collins; Dr. Juanita Fleming, Special Assistant for Academic Affairs, and Mr. Paul Van Booven, Associate General Counsel. Members of the general public and the news media were also in attendance. A quorum being present, Governor Breathitt declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:00 p.m. C. Approval of Minutes Governor Breathitt said that the Minutes of the January 25, 1994 meeting had been distributed and asked for additions or corrections. Mrs. Sims moved that the Minutes be approved as distributed. Mr. Ulmer seconded the motion, and it carried. D. President's Report to the Trustees (PR 1) President Wethington called attention to the following items in his report: 1. Three finalists have been named for the position of. Chancellor of the Albert B. Chandler Medical Center: Jordan L. Cohen, Dean of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy; Richard Allan DeVaul, Vice President for Health Affairs, Executive Director of the Health Science Center and Dean of the College of Medicine at Texas A&M University Health Care Center in College Station, Texas; and James Wilson Holsinger, Jr., Director of the Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Lexington.