0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

[3] > Image [3] of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1989-06-apr4.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

- 3 - President Roselle called upon Dean Oran Little, College of Agriculture, to make a presentation about the 75th Anniversary of the Cooperative Extension Service at the University. Dean Little provided a report on the Cooperative Extension Service and stated that on May 8 every county in the state will have a special birthday party. He introduced the 75th Anniversary committee consisting of representatives from the counties. He stated that the Cooperative Extension Service has a bright future and called particular attention to the most recent annual report that was included in the Board packets. He added that later in the day there would be a special program commemorating the 20th anniversary of the Expanded Food and Nutrition Education program and invited everyone to attend. President Roselle expressed thanks to Dean Little for a very productive year and noted that Dean Little has traveled the Commonwealth of Kentucky extensively his first year in the deanship. President Roselle stated that Dean Little has represented the University of Kentucky exceedingly well. F. Personnel Actions (FR 2) With President Roselle so recommending, on motion by Mr. Stricker, seconded by Professor Coleman and carried, the routine personnel actions in PR 2 were approved. (See PR 2 at the end of the Minutes.) G. Proposed Amendment to the Governing Regulations (PR 3A) The Board received a proposed amendment to the Governing Regulations for preliminary consideration. The proposed amendment will be included on the agenda for action at the next Board meeting. Dr. Paul Sears explained the purpose of the proposed amendment and stated that it should be a good incentive toward recruiting desired people. (See PR 3A at the end of the Minutes.) H. Honorary Degree Recipients (PR 3B) President Roselle recommended that approval be granted to awarding the honorary degree of Doctor of Letters to Douglas W. Schwartz, the Doctor of Science to Shoichiro Toyoda, and the Doctor of Laws to Hilary J. Boone, Jr., John H. Gray, Daniel. Oduber and Georgia Powers. Senator Huddleston so moved. The motion was seconded by Mr. Stricker and unanimously carried. Mr. Ockerman noted for the benefit of the audience that the information regarding the honorary degree recipients had previously been sent to the Board for review and consideration. (See PR 3B at the end of the Minutes.) I. Associate Degree Program in the Community College System - Paducaah Community College (PR 4A) With President Roselle so recommending, Mr. Sturgill moved that the Board authorize for submission to the Council on Higher Education a new degree program, Associate Degree in Applied Science, Engineering Technology, Electrical Option, for the Paducah Community College. The motion was seconded by Professor Betts and carried. (See PR 4A at the end of the Minutes.)