0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

item | thumbnails | details | text | pdf
Download this image
´╗┐Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, September 9, 2008. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, September 9, 2008, in the Board Room on the 18th Floor of Patterson Office Tower. A. Meeting Opened Ms. Mira Ball, chair, called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. and asked Ms. Barbara Jones, General Counsel, to administer the oath of office to the newly appointed Trustees who had not taken the oath of office at a public meeting. B. Oath of Office Barbara Jones, General Counsel, administered the Oath of Office to the following members: Edward Britt Brockman, appointed by Governor Steven L. Beshear to replace Billy Wilcoxson, for a term ending June 30, 2014. Jo Hern Curris, appointed by Governor Steve Beshear to replace Myra Leigh Tobin, for a term ending June 30, 2014. Everett McCorvey, elected by the faculty to replace Jeffrey B. Dembo, for a term ending June 30, 2011. W. Tyler Montell, who will serve as Student Trustee for the 2008-09 academic year. Frank Shoop, reappointed by Governor Steven L. Beshear for a term ending June 30, 2014. A round of applause was given to the new members of the Board. President Todd acknowledged the enthusiasm of the new Board members and said he was appreciative of their willingness to serve. He introduced Dr. Constantine "Deno" Curris, the husband of new member Jo Curris and a graduate of the University of Kentucky, who was in the audience and asked him to stand and be recognized. Dr. Curris received a round of applause. President Todd informed the Board that Dr. Curris is the president of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) in Washington, D.C. and has really done a good job for the University of Kentucky. He said that Dr. Curris has been a nice mentor for him on a number of occasions and noted that Dr. Curris gave the university's Commencement address a few years ago. He welcomed Dr. Curris back to campus. C. Roll Call The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Mira Ball (chair), Stephen Branscum, E. Britt Brockman, Penelope Brown, Jo Hern Curris, Ann Haney, James Hardymon, Pamela May, Everett McCorvey, W. Tyler Montell, Sandy Bugie Patterson, Phillip Patton, Charles R. Sachatello, Frank Shoop, JoEtta Wickliffe, Russ Williams, and Ernest Yanarella. Teleconferencing was provided for Erwin Roberts because he could not be present at