ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

[2] > Image [2] of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1997-07-sep16.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, September 16, 1997. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, September 16, 1997 in the Board Room on the 18th floor of Patterson Office Tower. A. Meeting Opened Governor Edward T. Breathitt, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m., and the invocation was pronounced by Professor Loys Mather. B. Roll Call The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Mr. Ted Bates, Mrs. Kay Shropshire Bell, Governor Edward T. Breathitt (Chairperson), Mr. Paul W. Chellgren, Ms. Melanie Cruz, Mr. Merwin Grayson, Jr., Mr. John "Jack" Guthrie, Mr. James F. Hardymon, Professor Loys L. Mather, Dr. Robert P. Meriwether, Dr. Elissa Plattner, Mr. Steven S. Reed, Professor Daniel R. Reedy, Mr. C. Frank Shoop, Dr. W. Grady Stumbo, Mr. Martin Welenken, Ms. JoEtta Y. Wickliffe, and Mr. Billy B. Wilcoxson. Absent from the meeting was Mr. Billy Joe Miles. The University administration was represented by President Charles T. Wethington, Jr.; Chancellors Ben W. Carr, James W. Holsinger, and Elisabeth Zinser; Vice Presidents Joseph T. Burch, Fitzgerald Bramwell, Edward A. Carter, George DeBin and Eugene Williams; Dr. Juanita Fleming, Special Assistant for Academic Affairs; Mr. C. M. Newton, Director of Athletics, and Mr. Richard E. Plymale, General Counsel. Members of the various news media were also in attendance. A quorum being present, the Chairperson declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:04 p.m. C. Approval of Minutes Governor Breathitt said that the Minutes of the Board meeting on August 19, 1997 had been distributed and asked for any additions or corrections. Mr. Guthrie moved that the Minutes be approved as distributed. Mrs. Bell seconded the motion, and it carried. D. Nomination of Officers and Executive Committee Under the Governing Regulations, officers of the Board and the Executive Committee are elected annually at the September meeting. Governor Breathitt called upon Mrs. Bell to preside and receive the report of the Nominating Committee. Mr.