0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1983-02-mar1.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of tile University of Kentucky, Tuesday, March 1, 1983. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 2 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time) on Tuesday, March 1, 1983 in the Board Room on the 18th floor of the Patterson office Tower on the Lexington Campus. A. Meeting Opened and Oath of Office Administered Mr. William B. Sturgill, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 2 p.m. and the invocation was pronounced by Mr. James W. Dinkle. Mr. Sturgill welcomed the new members of the Board of Trustees and requested Mr. John C. Darsie, General Counsel, to administer the oath of office to the following: Mr. Thomas P. Bell, appointed by Governor John Y. Brown, Jr. to replace Mrs. Betty Pace Clark, for a six-year term expiring December 31, 1988. Mr. Terrell A. Lassetter, appointed by Governor Brown to replace Mrs. Sally Powell Hermansdorfer, for a six-year term expiring December 31, 1988. B. Roll Call The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Mr. William B. Sturgill (Chairman), Mr. Thomas P. Bell, Governor Albert Benjamin Chandler (Honorary Trustee), Mr. Albert G. Clay, Professor Opal Skaggs Conley, Mr. James W. Dinkle, Mr. Ronald G. Geary, Mr. George W. Griffin, Mrs. Edythe Jones Hayes, Mr. Brereton C. Jones, Mr. R. Larry Jones, Mr. T. A. Lassetter, Mr. W. Terry McBrayer, Mr. Robert T. McCowan, Mr. A. Stevens Miles, Professor William F. Wagner, and Professor Constance P. Wilson. Absent from the meeting were Mr. William R. Black, Governor Edward T. Breathitt, Mr. Tracy Farmer, and Mr. Frank Ramsey. The University administration was represented by President Otis A. Singletary; Dr. Donald B. Clapp, Vice President for Administration; Chancellors Peter P. Bosomworth, Art Gallaher, and Charles T. Wethington; Dr. Raymond R. Hornback, Vice President for University Relations; Mr. John C. Darsie, General Counsel; Mr. Henry Clay Owen, Controller and Treasurer; Dr. Paul G. Sears, Special Assistant for Academic Affairs; and Dr. Wimberly C. Royster, Dean of the Graduate School and Coordinator of Research. Members of the various news media were also in attendance. A quorum being present, the Chairman declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 2:04 p.m. C. Minutes Approved The Minutes of the January 25, 1983 meeting of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees were approved as written.