ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

7 > Image 7 of 1985 NCAA Championship, March 30-April 1, 1985

Part of University of Kentucky Basketball Programs (Men)

Walter Byers Jack Davis Dr. Wilford Bailey NCAA Executive Director Oregon State University Auburn University NCAA President NCAA Secretary-Treasurer Women's championships are sponsored in basketball, cross country, fencing, field hockey, golf, gymnastics, lacrosse, soccer, Softball, swimming and diving, tennis, indoor track, outdoor track, and volleyball. The NCAA sponsors combined men's and women's national championships in rifle and skiing. Among the Association's myriad services is the Theodore Roosevelt Award and the College Athletics Top Ten which compose the NCAA's annual honors program. These honors recognize outstanding accomplishments by current and former student-athletes. The "Teddy" is the highest honor the NCAA confers. It is presented each year to a distinguished citizen of national reputation and outstanding accomplishment who was a varsity letter-winner in college. The recipient, through personal example and by a continuing interest and concern for physical fitness, must have exemplified the ideals and purposes of college athletics and amateur sports. The College Athletics Top Ten Awards consist of the Today's Top Five, honoring five outstanding senior student-athletes, and the Silver Anniversary Top Five, recognizing five distinguished former student-athletes on the 25th anniversary of their graduation. The Teddy Award and the College Athletics Top Ten Awards are presented annually at the honors luncheon during the annual Convention. The "Common Goal" the basis for which the NCAA is in existence, will continue to bind together the nation's finest institutions of higher education and whether it is on the field or in the classroom, the NCAA will forever be the "Voice of College Athletics. . . . Serving Higher Education."