ExploreUK is getting a new design. Try the beta site!


ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

9 > Image 9 of 1985 NCAA Championship, March 30-April 1, 1985

Part of University of Kentucky Basketball Programs (Men)

NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee Future Championship Dates and Sites The National Collegiate Men's Basketball Championship is administered and supervised by the nine-person NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee. This committee is nominated by the NCAA Committee on Committees and elected by the NCAA membership at the Association's annual Convention. Current Chair of the committee is Vic Bubas, Commissioner of the Sun Belt Conference. Bubas became a member of the committee in 1979 and is in his first year as chair of the committee. The newest member of the committee is Fred Schaus, director of athletics, West Virginia University. Other members are Arnie Ferrin. director of athletics at the University of Utah: Frank Windegger. director of athletics at Texas Christian University: Cedric W. Dempsey, director of athletics at the University of Arizona: Dave Hart, director of athletics at the University of Missouri, Columbia; Dick Schultz, director of athletics at the University of Virginia; Gene Corrigan, director of athletics at the University of Notre Dame and Dick Shrider. director of athletics at the University of Miami (Ohio). Each committee member is elected for a three-year term and may be re-elected for a second term. Administrative assistance is provided by Tom Jernstedt, NCAA assistant executive director. Media arrangements are coordinated by Dave Cawood. NCAA assistant executive director. First and Second Rounds March 13-16, 1986 Greensboro Coliseum East.......Greensboro. North Carolina Carrier Dome Syracuse. New York LSU Assembly Center Southeast . . . Baton Rouge, Louisiana Charlotte Coliseum Charlotte. North Carolina Dayton Arena Midwest . . . .Dayton, Ohio Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome Minneapolis, Minnesota Dee Events Center West ......Ogden. Utah McKale Center Tucson. Arizona Fred Schaus West Virginia Vic Bubas Sun Belt Conf. Cedric Dempsey Arizona Gene Corrigan Notre Dame Arnie Ferrin Utah Dick Schultz Virginia Dave Hart Missouri Richard Shrider Miami (Ohio) Frank Windegger Tom Jernstedt Texas Christian NCAA Dave Cawood NCAA East Southeast Midwest Regionals March 20-23, 1986 Meadowlands Arena . East Rutherford, New Jersey The Omni . Atlanta. Georgia West Kemper Arena .Kansas City. Missouri The Summit . Houston. Texas Finals Reunion Arena 1986 ......Dallas, Texas (March 29 & 31) Louisiana Superdome 1987 ......New Orleans. Louisiana (March 28 & 30) Kemper Arena 1988 ......Kansas City. Missouri (April 2 & 4) The Kingdome 1989 ......Seattle. Washington (April 1 & 3) McNichols Arena 1990 ......Denver, Colorado (March 31 & April 2) 7