0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1987-03-apr7.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, April 7, 1987. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1 p.m. (Eastern Daylight Time) on Tuesday, April 7, 1987 in the Board Room on the 18th floor of the Patterson Office Tower on the Lexington Campus. A. Meeting Opened and Roll Called Mr. Robert T. McCowan, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 1 p.m. (Eastern Daylight Time), and the invocation was pronounced by Mr. Ted B. Bates. The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Mr. Robert T. McCowan (Chairman), Mr. Ted B. Bates, Professor Raymond F. Betts, Governor Albert B. Chandler, Mr. Albert G. Clay, Professor David R. Driscoll, Jr., Mr. Tracy Farmer, Mr. Lawrence E. Forgy, Jr., Ms. Donna G. Greenwell, Mrs. Edythe Jones Hayes, Mr. Henry E. Hershey, Mr. R. Larry Jones, Mr. T. A. Lassetter, Dr. Nicholas J. Pisacano, Mr. Frank Ramsey, Mr. James L. Rose, Mr. Jerome A. Stricker, Judge Julia K. Tackett, Mr. Bobby Watson, Mr. Billy B. Wilcoxson, and Professor Constance P. Wilson. Absent from the meeting were Mr. Ronald G. Geary, Mr. George W. Griffin, Senator Walter D. Huddleston, and Mr. Brereton C. Jones. The University administration was represented by President Otis A. Singletary; Mr. Edward A. Carter, Acting Vice President for Administration; Chancellor Charles T. Wethington; Dr. Raymond R. Hornback, Vice President for University Relations; Mr. John C. Darsie, General Counsel; Mr. Henry Clay Owen, Controller and Treasurer; Dr. Paul G. Sears, Special Assistant for Academic Affairs; and Dr. Donald B. Clapp, Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration for the Medical Center, representing Chancellor Peter P. Bosomworth. Members of the various new media were also in attendance. Mr. Darsie, Assistant Secretary of the Board, reported a quorum present, and Mr. McCowan declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:05 p.m. B. Minutes Approved On motion made by Mrs. Hayes, seconded by Mr. Clay and passed, the Minutes of the March 3, 1987 meeting of the Board of Trustees were approved as written. C. Nominating Committee Report Mr. McCowan, who had appointed a Nominating Committee comprised of Mr. Frank Ramsey (Chairman), Mr. James L. Rose, Mrs. Edythe Jones Hayes and Professor David R. Driscoll, Jr. to recommend a replacement for Mr. William R. Black on the Executive Committee and a replacement for Mr. George W. Griffin as Secretary of the Board, called on Mr. Ramsey to present the Committee's recommendations.