ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

[54] > Image [54] of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1951-03-apr3.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

54 Z. Recess for Luncheon, The Board of Trustees, at 12:35 p.m., recessed for lunch and the members were joined by Dean Elvis Stahr, Dr. William S. Ward, Dr. Ralph Pickett, Vego Barnes, of the Department of Economic Se- curity of the State of Kentucky, Bion Hannah, Director of the Em- ployment Insurance Commission, State of Kentucky, R.G. Jordon and Edward Nichols, Regional Representatives of the Social Security Board, Cleveland, Ohio. A-1, Social Security Program for the University Discussed. The Board continued its deliberation of the agenda after lunch- eon, with luncheon guests present. Dean Stahr, Doctor Ward and Doctor Pickett participated in the discussion on behalf of the University and staff. R. J. Jordon spoke for the representatives of the Social Security Board in acquainting the Board of Trustees with the provisions of social security of the Social Security Act. A general discussion ensued as to advisability of the staff of the University abandoning its present change-of-work policy, which is similar to a Retirement System, and accepting social security with the Federal Government, It developed that the University had requested the Federal Ad- ministrator of Social Security for an opinion as to whether the University's present change-of-work policy constituted a "similar system" to a retirement system, Mr. Jordon stated that he had been advised by telephone conversation that an opinion had been written in the affirmative, The Board took the question under consideration and adjourned without taking any formal action. A-2. Aerment There being no further business, the Board adjourned at 2:45 p.m., to meet at 10:00 amm. June 1, in the office of the President of the University, Frank D. Peterson, Secretary Board of Trustees and Executive Committee.