0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

[2] > Image [2] of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 2005-01-jan11.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, January 11, 2005. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, January 11, 2005, in the Board Room on the 18th Floor of Patterson Office Tower. A. Meeting Opened Mr. James Hardymon, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m. and asked the secretary of the Board, Ms. Elaine Wilson, to call the roll. B. Roll Call The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Mira S. Ball, Stephen P. Branscum, Marianne Smith Edge, Ann Brand Haney, James F. Hardymon (Chair), Michael Kennedy, Pamela May, Roy Moore, Phillip Patton, Frank Shoop, Alice Sparks, Myra Leigh Tobin, Rachel Watts, JoEtta Y. Wickliffe, Billy B. Wilcoxson, Russ Williams, and Elaine A. Wilson. Absent from the meeting were Billy Joe Miles, Steven Reed, and Barbara S. Young. The University administration was represented by President Lee T. Todd, Jr., Provost Michael Nietzel, Acting Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration Frank Butler, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs Michael Karpf, Executive Vice President for Research Wendy Baldwin, and General Counsel Barbara W. Jones. Members of the various news media were also in attendance. A quorum being present, the Chair declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:05 p.m. Mr. Hardymon said that with recent happenings in the world everyone has a lot on their minds. He asked the Board for a moment of silence to prepare for the meeting. Mr. Hardymon said that he appreciated the credit that some Board members were trying to give him for the new agenda book; however, he did not deserve any credit for it. He complimented the staff for the book and indicated that improvements will continue to be made as time passes. He thanked Peggy Way for getting the minutes, PR 1, and other materials to the Board in advance. Any materials that can be sent to the Board in advance will help the members be better prepared to work for the University when they arrive for the meetings. Mr. Hardymon called attention to the consent items on the agenda and said the committee chairs could elaborate on any items. Consent items include: Minutes - December 14, 2004 PR 2 Personnel Actions AACR 1 Candidates for Degrees - Community College System FCR 1 Janet Koller Estate Gift FCR 2 Dr. Thomas F. Van Meter, Jr., Gift and Pledge FCR 3 Altria/Philip Morris, Inc., Gift FCR 4 Max Steckler Estate Gift