ExploreUK is getting a new design. Try the beta site!


ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1986-05-jun25.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Wednesday, June 25, 1986. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1 p.m. (Eastern Daylight Time) on Wednesday, June 25, 1986 in the Board Room on the 18th floor of the Patterson Office Tower on the Lexington Campus. A. Meeting Opened and Roll Called Mr. Robert T. McCowan, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 1 p.m., and the invocation was pronounced by Mrs. Edythe Jones Hayes. The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Mr. Robert T. McCowan (Chairman), Mr. William R. Black, Mr. John S. Cain, Professor Timothy A. Cantrell, Governor Albert Benjamin Chandler, Mr. Albert G. Clay, Mr. George W. Griffin, Mrs. Edythe Jones Haves, Mr. Henry E. Hershey, Mr. Brereton C. Jones, Mr. R. Larry Jones, Professor James D. Kemp, Mr. T. A. Lassetter, Mr. W. Bruce Lunsford, Mr. Frank Ramsey, Mr. James L. Rose, Mr. Bobby Watson, and Professor Constance P. Wilson. Absent from the meeting were Mr. Tracy Farmer and Mr. Ronald G. Geary. The University administration was represented by President Otis A. Singletary; Mr. James 0. King, Vice President for Administration; Chancellors Peter P. Bosomworth, Art Gallaher, and Charles T. Wethington; Dr. Raymond R. Hornback, Vice President for University Relations; Mr. Edward A. Carter, Associate Vice President for Planning and Budget; Mr. John C. Darsie, General Counsel; Mr. Henry Clay Owen, Controller and Treasurer; and Dr. Paul G. Sears, Special Assistant for Academic Affairs. Members of the various news media were also in attendance. A quorum being present, the Chairman declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:04 p.m. B. Minutes Approved On motion made by Mr. Rose, seconded by Mr. Lunsford and passed, the Minutes of the May 6, 1986 meeting of the Board of Trustees were approved as written. C. Nominating Committee Appointed Mr. McCowan appointed Mr. George W. Griffin (Chairman), Mrs. Edythe Jones Hayes, Mr. James L. Rose, Mr. R. Larry Jones, and Professor Constance P. Wilson to serve as the Nominating Committee to recommend officers of the Board and members of the Executive Committee to be presented at the September 16, 1986 meeting of the Board of Trustees.