ExploreUK is getting a new design. Try the beta site!


ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

[3] > Image [3] of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 2000-06-aug15.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, August 15, 2000. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, August 15, 2000 in the Board Room on the 18th floor of Patterson Office Tower. A. Meeting Opened Billy Joe Miles, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m., and the invocation was pronounced by Dr. Grady Stumbo. B. Roll Call The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Governor Edward T. Breathitt, Mr. Paul W. Chellgren, Ms. Marianne Smith Edge, Mr. James Glenn III, Mr. Merwin Grayson, Mr. John "Jack" Guthrie, Dr. Loys L. Mather, Mr. Billy Joe Miles (Chairman), Mr. Steven S. Reed, Dr. Daniel R. Reedy, Ms. Marian Sims, Dr. W. Grady Stumbo, Mr. Billy B. Wilcoxson, Mr. Russell Williams and Ms. Elaine Wilson. Absent from the meeting were Dr. Robert P. Meriwether, Dr. Elissa Plattner, Mr. C. Frank Shoop, Ms. Alice Sparks, and Ms. JoEtta Y. Wickliffe. The University administration was represented by President Charles T. Wethington, Jr.; Chancellors James W. Holsinger and Elisabeth Zinser; Vice Presidents Fitzgerald Bramwell, Joseph T. Burch, Ben W. Carr, Edward A. Carter, George DeBin and Eugene Williams; and Dr. Juanita Fleming, Special Assistant for Academic Affairs. Members of the various news media were also in attendance. A quorum being present, the Chairperson declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:03 p.m. C. Oath of Office Mr. Miles asked Paul Van Booven, Deputy General Counsel, to administer the oath of office to the following members: Marianne Smith Edge, appointed by Governor Paul E. Patton to replace Ted Bates, for a term ending June 30, 2006. James H. Glenn III, who will serve as student trustee for the 2000-2001 academic year. Steven S. Reed, reappointed by Governor Paul E. Patton, for a term ending June 30, 2006.