ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 2010-10-12

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting ofthe Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, October 12, 2010. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, October 12, 2010 in the Board Room on the 18m Floor of Patterson Office Tower. A. Meeting Opened Dr. E. Britt Brockman, chair ofthe Board, called the meeting to order at 1:06 p.m. He asked Ms. Pam May, secretary ofthe Board, to call the roll. B. Roll Call The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call ofthe roll: E. Britt Brockman (chair), Sheila Brothers, Penelope Brown, Jo Hem Curris, William S. Farish, Jr, Oliver Keith Gannon, Carol Martin "Bill Gatton, Pamela T. May, Everett McCorvey, Billy Joe Miles, Teny Mobley, Sandy Bugie Patterson, Joe Peek, Erwin Roberts, Charles R. Sachatello, Frank Shoop, Ryan Smith, James W. Stuckert, and Barbara Young. Absent from the meeting was Dennontti Dawson. Ms. May announced that a quorum was present. The university administration was represented by President Lee T. Todd, Jr., Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration Frank Butler, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs Michael Karpf; and General Counsel Barbara W. Jones. The university faculty was represented by Chair of the University Senate Council Hollie Swanson, and the university staff was represented by Chair ofthe Staff Senate Jann Burks. Members ofthe various news media were also in attendance. C. Approval of Minutes Dr. Brockman called attention to the September 14, 2010 minutes and asked for a motion for approval. Mr. Stuckert moved approval, and his motion was seconded by Ms. Brothers and passed without dissent. D. Chairs Report: Presidential Search Schedule Dr. Brockman stated that the presidential search has weighed heavily on everyones mind, and it will undoubtedly be the most significant event that the Board participates in this year. He expressed his appreciation to the Student Govemment Association, the Alumni Association, the faculty senate, and the staff senate for working diligently on the nomination process. He also acknowledged that all ofthe twenty Board members were very qualified to be on this committee but stated that he was constrained to pick only six. He announced that an office for the Presidential Search Committee has been secured at the Helen G. King Alumni House.