ExploreUK is getting a new design. Try the beta site!


ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1971-02-feb16.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees, University of Kentucky, Tuesday, February 16, 1971 The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met in regular session at 2:00 p. m. (Eastern Standard Time) on Tuesday, February 16, 1971 in Room E on the 18th floor of the Patterson Office Tower on the campus of the University with the following members present: Mr. Jesse M. Alverson, Mr. Thomas P. Bell, Mrs. Rexford S. Blazer, Mrs. Robert 0. Clark, Mr. Albert G. Clay, Mr. Richard E. Cooper, Mr. George W. Griffin, Mr. Eugene Goss, Mr. J. Robert Miller, Mr. James H. Pence, non-voting faculty member Professor Paul G. Sears, and non-voting student member, Mr. Stephen Bright. Absent from the meeting were Governor Louie B. Nunn, former Governor Albert B. Chandler, Mr. William P. Butler, Dr. N. N. Nicholas, Mr. Floyd H. Wright, and non-voting faculty member Professor Robert W. Rudd. Members of the University administration present were: President Otis A. Singletary; Vice Presidents Alvin L. Morris, Lewis W. Cochran, A. D. Albright, Glenwood L. Creech, Stanley Wall, Robert G. Zurnwinkle, Peter P. Bosornworth and Lawrence E. Forgy; Dr. Donald B. Clapp, Budget Director; and Mr. John C. Darsie, Legal Counsel. Representatives of the various news media were also in attendance. A. Meeting Opened Mr. Clay, Vice Chairman of the Board, presided in the absence of Governor Louie B. Nunn, He called the meeting to order at 2:00 p. m. The invocation was pronounced by Mr. Clay. B. Oath of Office Administered Mrs. Robert 0. Clark was welcomed as a new member of the Board of Trustees and the oath of office was administered by Mr. John Darsie, Legal Counsel of the University. Mrs. Clark was appointed by Governor Nunn as an alumnus member of the Board of Trustees for a term expiring December 31, 1974. She replaces Mr. Robert H. Hillenmeyer, whose term expired December 31, 1970 but who continued as a member of the Board until Mrs. Clark's appoint- ment was made and she qualified through taking the oath of office. C. Roll Call The Secretary reported a quorum present and Mr. Clay declared the meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 2:03 p. m.