ExploreUK is getting a new design. Try the beta site!


ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

2 > Image 2 of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 2011-05-03

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

-2- into closed session because open discussions about these comments would violate the preferred presidential candidates personal privacy rights. The following guidelines will be used for the closed session: Only those persons necessary to provide infonnation to the Board may be present with the Board and no others. Nothing else may be discussed in the closed session but the infonnation relating to the candidates. When the Board discussions have been completed, no vote may be taken. Dr. Brockrnan moved that the Board go into closed session pursuant to KRS 61.810 (1) (f). This statutory citation is the exception in the open meetings law that pennits the Board to go into closed session to discuss potential candidates which may lead to the selection of a preferred candidate for the appointment as president. Dr. Sachatello seconded the motion, and it passed without dissent. The Board went into closed session at 8:07 a.m. E. Open Session At 8:55 a.m. Dr. Brockrnan stated that the closed session of the Board had concluded. No matters other than the announced matters were discussed, and no final action was taken. The Board retumed to its open session and proceeded with its regular business. Dr. Brockrnan then announced that the Board would recess until 1:00 p.m. F. Meeting Reconvened Dr. Brockrnan called the meeting to order and asked Ms. May to call the roll for the 1:00 p.m. continuation of the meeting. The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call ofthe roll: E. Britt Brockrnan (chair), Sheila Brothers, Penelope A. Brown, Dennontti F. Dawson, William S. Farish, Jr., Carol Martin "Bill Gatton, Oliver Keith Gannon, Pamela T. May, Everett McCorvey, Billy Joe Miles, Teny Mobley, Sandy Bugie Patterson, Joe Peek, Erwin Roberts, Charles R. Sachatello, C. Frank Shoop, Ryan M. Smith, James W. Stuckert, and Barbara Young. Jo Hem Curris was absent. Ms. May announced that a quorum was present. The university administration was represented by President Lee T. Todd, Jr., Provost Kumble Subbaswamy, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration Frank Butler, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs Michael Karpf; and Associate Senior General Counsel T. Lynn Williamson. The university faculty was represented by Chair of the University Senate Council Hollie Swanson, and the university staff was represented by Chair ofthe Staff Senate Jann Burks. Members ofthe various news media were also in attendance.