ExploreUK is getting a new design. Try the beta site!


ExploreUK home

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, 1978-05-jun20.

Part of Minutes of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Special Called Meeting of the Board of Trustees, University of Kentucky, Tuesday, June 20, 1978. The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky convened in the Board Room on the eighteenth floor of the Patterson Office Tower on the Lexington campus at 2:00 p. m. (EDT), on Tuesday, June 20, 1978, pursuant to a Notice which was sent by first class mail, postage prepaid, to all members of the Board by the Secretary on June 6, 1978, with distribution of copies to all parties required to be given notice pursuant to KRS 61. 825. The following members answered the call of the roll: Mr. William B. Sturgill, Chairman, Mr. William R. Black, Mrs. Betty Carol Clark, Mr. Albert G. Clay, former Governor Albert B. Chandler, Mr. George W. Griffin, Mr. Homer W. Ramsey, Mrs. Sally Hermansdorfer, Mr. L. D. Gorman, Mr. Thomas B. Kessinger, Dr. David A. Hull, Mr. Frank Ramsey, Professor Michael Adelstein, Professor Paul G. Sears, and Mr. Eugene Tichenor. Absent were Mr. Richard E. Cooper (who is officially a member of the Board until his replacement is sworn in), Mr. John R. Gaines, Mr. Zirl A. Palmer, and Dr. John R. Woodyard. The University Administration was represented by President Otis A. Singletary; Vice Presidents Lewis W. Cochran, Peter P. Bosomworth, Raymond R. Hornback, Jack C. Blanton, John T. Smith, and Donald B. Clapp; Dr. David Stockham representing Vice President Robert Zumwinkle; Dr. Wimberly C. Royster, Dean of the Graduate School and Coordinator of Research; and Mr. John C. Darsie, Legal Counsel. A. Meeting Opened The Chairman called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m., and the Invocation was pronounced by Mrs. Betty Carol Clark. Following call of the roll, to which 15 answered with only 4 being absent, the Chairman announced that a quorum was present for the conduct of business, and called the meeting to order at 2:03 o'clock. B. Oath of Office Administered Mr. Sturgill welcomed the newest member of the Board, Mr. Eugene Tichenor, student member. At the Chairman's request, the oath of office was administered to Mr. Tichenor by Mr. John Darsie, Legal Counsel. C. Comments by President Singletary President Singletary made several clarifying comments relative to the controversial athletic dormitory situation which recently had received an unusually high level of coverage in the news media. He reviewed that Governor Carroll's offer of assistance was declined in a joint statement