0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Boone Bicentennial Commission records, 1931-1937

details | guide | text


Processed by: Archives Staff ; machine-readable finding aid created by:Eric Weig


Boone Bicentennial Commission records




University of Kentucky Special CollectionsLexington, Kentucky 40506


Correspondence, notes, speeches, clippings. Arranged chronologically within each organizational division.

Conditions Governing Access note

Collection is open for research.

Preferred Citation Note

[Identification of item], Boone Bicentennial Commission records, 1931-1937, 1M61W11, Special Collections, University of Kentucky.


.4 cubic feet


Organization The Boone Bicentennial Commission was a Kentucky commission appointed by the governor to plan celebrations in honor of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Daniel Boone. Commission members included Judge Samuel Wilson, Chairman, J. T. Davis, Mrs. Jouett Taylor Cannon, Innes B. Ross, C. Frank Dunn, R.C. Ballard Thruston, Lucien Beckner, Mrs. Grant E. Lilly, Keen Johnson, Mrs. Walter F. Rogers, Arthur Braden, W.R. Shackelford, Harry B. Mackoy, A. Gordon Sulser, James L. Isenberg, and William Boone Douglass.

Scope and Content

These papers consist of correspondence and official records of the commission named to plan celebrations in honor of the birth of Daniel Boone. Correspondence present is largely between Judge Samuel Wilson and other committee members, as well as between Wilson and D. M. Hutton, editor, Harrodsburg HERALD, Jno. W. Holloway, state senator from the 25th District (Winchester, Kentucky) and others. Matters discussed included bicentennial activities in general, the minting of Boone memorial half dollars, and the creation of a scenic highway connecting Blue Licks, Bryan's Station, Boone's Station, and Boonesborough, Kentucky. These materials also illustrate the role of a gubernatorially appointed commission.


  • Boone family.
  • Wilson, Samuel M. (Samuel Mackay), 1871-1946.
  • Barkley, Alben William, 1877-1956.
  • Braden, Arthur.
  • Beckner, Lucien, 1872-1970.
  • Blue Licks (Ky.)--History.
  • Bryan Station (Ky.)--History.
  • Boonesborough (Ky.)--History.
  • Cannon, Mrs. Jouett T. (Jouett Taylor)
  • Dorris, Jonathan Truman, 1883-1972.
  • Douglass, William Boone.
  • Dunn, C. Frank, 1883-
  • Ellis, James Tandy, 1868-1943.
  • Executive advisory bodies--Kentucky.
  • Harrodsburg (Ky.)--History
  • Herald (Harrodsburg, Ky.)
  • Holloway, John S. W.
  • Hutton, D. M. (Daniel Mac-Hir)
  • Isenberg, James L, 1881-1945.
  • Jillson, Willard Rouse, 1890-
  • Johnson, Keen, 1896-
  • Landin, Harold.
  • Lilly, Grant E, Mrs.
  • Mackoy, Harry B.
  • Rogers, Walter F, Mrs.
  • Ross, Innes B.
  • Shackelford, W. R.
  • Sulser, A. Gordon.
  • Thruston, R.C. Ballard (Rogers Clark Ballard), 1858-1946.
  • Vinson, Fred M, 1890-1953.
  • Walkins, Rose G.
  • Walkins, Rose G.

User Restrictions

Copyright has not been assigned to the University of Kentucky.