- 6 -

       I.    Honorary Degree Recipients (PR 3A)

       Interim President Wethington indicated his pleasure in
recommending that approval be granted to awarding the honorary degree
of Doctor of Letters to Blyden Jackson, the Doctor of Science to
Warren H. Proudfoot and Loman Trover and the Doctor of Laws to
Albert G. Clay, Thomas Marshall Hahn, and John W. Oswald. Mr.
Stricker so moved. His motion was seconded by Professor Rhoads and
passed. (See PR 3A at the end of the Minutes.)

       J.   AssQciate Degree PrQgram- in the Community CollegeSysten
- Hopkinsville Community College (PR 4A)

       On motion made by Professor Rhoads, seconded by Mrs. Hayes and
carried, the Board authorized for submission to the Council on Higher
Education a new degree program, Associate Degree in Applied Science,
Industrial Electrical Technology for the Hopkinsville Community
College. (See PR 4A at the end of the Minutes.)

       K.    ApQntment t     niverstyjHspital of th-Al1,r B.
Chandler Me ical Center. Inc. - Board of Directors (PR 6A)

       Interim President Wethington recommended that approval be given
to the appointment of Mr. Jerome A. Stricker as a member of the Board
of Directors of the University Hospital of the Albert B. Chandler
Medical Center, Inc. for a term to expire on June 30, 1990. Mr.
Stricker will replace Dr. Nicholas J. Pisacano. Mr. Sturgill so
moved. The motion, seconded by Dr. Meriwether, passed. (See PR 6A at
the end of the Minutes.)

       L.    University Rjes&arch Frofes orhis (PR 8A)

       Interim President Wethington indicated his pleasure in
recommending approval of four University Research Professorships for
1990-91. He reported that the professorships will be awarded to
Professor Billie R. DeWalt, Department of Anthropology; Professor John
Lewis, Department of Mathematics; Professor Keith MacAdam, Department
of Physics and Astronomy; and Professor Charles J. Waechter,
Department of Biochemistry. Professor Betts moved that PR 8A be
approved. His motion was seconded by Judge Stephens and carried.
(See PR 8A at the end of the Minutes.)

       Interim President Wethington announced that Professor John
Lewis and Professor Keith MacAdam were in attendance. He provided
background information about each of them, and they were given a round
of applause.

       M.    Acceptance of Interim Fi n   Wial RepQrt fQte _t   Xniversitv
of Kent                    onths Ended February 28. 199)

      Mr. Ockerman, Chairman of the Finance Committee, reported that
the Committee recommended that the Board accept the University of
Kentucky consolidated financial report for the eight months ended