\` '
THE University embraces several Colleges, each under the
immediate government of its own Faculty and Presiding Officer.
The general supervision of the University as a whole is com—
mitted to the Regent, who is elected from among the Curators, ·
‘ and is ex-ajicz'0 Chairman of the Executive Committee, and
whose duty it is, in connection with them, to see the general
— laws and statutes of the University faithfully executed.
  Each College is divided into several Schools or Departments il
` of Study; and each school is under the immediate government
and instruction of a competent Professor, assisted when neces-  
sary by subordinate Instructors and Tutors. {
The Colleges of the University are severally styled- L i
1. The College of Science, Literature, and Arts.
2. The Agricultural and Mechanical College of Kentucky.  
3. The College of the Bible.  
4. The Normal College.  
5. The College of Law.
6. The College of Medicine. ·
While the course of study and instruction in each College ,
is full and complete, yet the four iirst named above are so _
associated that a student regularly matriculated in any one of  
them may have the benefit of instruction in the others without  
additional charge for tuition. iii
There are some features in the plan of Kentucky University "
which are peculiar. The general superintendence of the whole _
M Institution by the Regent, who is not connected with any