Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the university
of Kentucky, Tuesday, August 17, 1993.

       The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00
p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, August 17, 1993 in the Board Room on
the 18th floor of Patterson Office Tower.

       A. Meeting Opened

       Governor Edward T. Breathitt, Chairpersons called the meeting to
order at 1:00 p.m., and the invocation was pronounced by Judge Henry R.

       B. Roll Call

       The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call
of the roll: Governor Edward T. Breathitt (Chairperson), Mrs. Kay
Shropshire Bell, Mr. Robert N. Clay, Mr. Lance Dowdy, Mr. James F.
Hardymon, Professor Loys Mather, Dr. Robert P. Meriwether, Dr. Elissa
Plattner, Dr. Deborah Powell, Mr. C. Frank Shoop, Mrs. Marian Moore
Sims, Professor John Sistarenik, Jr., Mr. William B. Sturgill, Mr.
Daniel C. Ulmer, Jr., Mrs. Lois Weinberg, Mr. Martin Welenken, Mr. Billy
B. Wilcoxson, and Judge Henry R. Wilhoit, Jr. Absent from the meeting
were Mr. Paul Chelgren and Mr. Henry Jackson. The University
administration was represented by President Charles T. Wethington, Jr.;
Chancellors Peter P. Bosomworth, Ben W. Carr, Jr., and Robert E.
Hemenway; Vice Presidents Joseph T. Burch, Edward A. Carter, Donald B.
Clapp, Linda J. Magid, and Eugene R. Williams; Dr. Juanita Fleming,
Special Assistant for Academic Affairs; Mr. Larry Ivy, Associate
Director of Athletics; and Mr. Paul VanBooven, Associate General Counsel.

       Members of the general public and the news media were also in
attendance. A quorum being present, Governor Breathitt declared the
meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:03 p.m.

       C.    Oath of Office Administered

       President Wethington said that there were three new Board members
joining the Board. He noted that the new members had taken the oath of
office earlier because there was not a July meeting; however, he asked
Paul VanBooven, Associate Legal Counsel, to administer the oath of
office to the following members for public record:

       Mr. Lance Dowdy, who will serve as student trustee for the
       1993-94 academic year.

       Professor Loys L. Mather, faculty representative elected to
       replace Professor Carolyn S. Bratt, for a term expiring June 30,

       Mr. Martin Welenken, appointed by Governor Brereton C. Jones to
       replace Mr. James L. Rose, for a term expiring June 30, 1999.

       Governor Breathitt welcomed the new members and expressed
appreciation to them for their willingness to serve on the Board.