Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees
University of Kentucky
Tuesday, December 11, 2012
The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time)
on Tuesday, December 11, 2012 in the Board Room on the 18th Floor of Patterson Office Tower.

Meeting Opened

Dr. E. Britt Brockman, chair of the Board of Trustees, called the meeting to order at 1:05
p.m. Chair Brockman asked Trustee Sheila Brothers, Secretary of the Board, to call the roll.

Roll Call

The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: C.B.
Akins, Sr., Stephen Bilas, William C. Britton, E. Britt Brockman, Sheila Brothers, Mark Bryant,
Jo Hern Curris, Oliver Keith Gannon, Carol Martin “Bill” Gatton, Kelly Sullivan Holland, Billy
Joe Miles, Terry Mobley, Charles Sachatello, C. Frank Shoop, James W. Stuckert, Irina Voro,
John Wilson, and Barbara Young. Absent from the meeting was Pamela T. May. Secretary
Brothers announced that a quorum was present.
The University administration was represented by President Eli Capilouto, Interim
Provost Tim Tracy, Vice President for Health Affairs Michael Karpf, and General Counsel
William Thro.
The University faculty was represented by Chair of the University Senate Council Lee
Blonder, and the University staff was represented by Chair of the Staff Senate Mike Adams.
Guests and members of the news media were also in attendance.

Consent Items

Chair Brockman called attention to the nine consent items on the agenda. The items
included the minutes for the Board of Trustees Retreat on October 13-14, 2012, the regular
meeting of the Board on October 14, 2012, PR 2 which deals with personnel actions, and FCR 1,
2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 which included pledges and gifts.
Chair Brockman noted that FCR 1, Ball Realty LLC Gift and Pledge, was a $500,000 gift
and a $1.5 million pledge from Don and Mira Ball. He thanked the Balls not only for their
generous gifts to the University, but their tireless efforts over the years to advance the University
of Kentucky.
Chair Brockman also acknowledged FCR 3, the Crutcher Family Foundation Pledge.
This pledge creates and endows the Crutcher Family Scholarship in the Office of Academic
Scholarships. Chair Brockman thanked and introduced family members Dottie Crutcher Cordray
and Dan Crutcher, who presented a check to the Board and President Capilouto.