Minutes of the Meeting ofthe Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday,
June 8, 2010.
The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time) on
Tuesday, June 8, 2010 in the Board Room on the 18m Floor of Patterson Office Tower.
A. Meeting Opened
Ms. Mira Ball, chair, called the meeting to order at 1:15 p.m. and asked Ms. Barbara Jones,
assistant secretary ofthe Board, to call the roll.
B. Roll Call
The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call ofthe roll: Mira Ball
(chair), Stephen Branscum, E. Britt Brockman, Penelope Brown, Jo Hem Curris, Dennontti Dawson,
Carol Martin "Bill” Gatton, Ann Haney, Everett McCorvey, Billy Joe Miles, Sandy Bugie Patterson,
Robynn Pease, Charles R. Sachatello, Frank Shoop, Ryan Smith, James W. Stuckert, Emest
Yanarella, and Barbara Young. Absent from the meeting were Pamela T. May and Erwin Roberts.
Ms. Jones announced that a quorum was present.
The university administration was represented by President Lee T. Todd, Jr., Provost Kumble
Subbaswamy, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration Frank Butler, Executive Vice
President for Health Affairs Michael Karpft and General Counsel Barbara W. Jones.
The university faculty was represented by Chair of the University Senate Council Hollie
Swanson, and the university staff was represented by Chair ofthe Staff Senate Bryan Back.
Members ofthe various news media were also in attendance.
C. Consent Items
Ms. Ball called attention to the consent items which included the minutes, PR 2 Personnel
Actions, and acceptance of a pledge and gifts. Mr. Stuckert moved approval of the consent items.
Ms. Haney seconded the motion, and it carried without dissent. (See consent items listed below at
the end of the Minutes.)
Minutes — April 27, 2010
PR 2 Personnel Actions
FCR 1 Alliance Resource Partners and Alliance Holdings Pledge
FCR 2 Gift from the Estate of Joanne I. Bell
FCR 3 Don Jacobs Charitable Foundation, Inc. Gift