´╗┐Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, December 9, 2008.
The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, December 9, 2008, in the Board Room on the 18th Floor of Patterson Office Tower.
A. Meeting Opened
Ms. Mira Ball, chair, called the meeting to order at 1:07 p.m. and asked Ms. Barbara Jones, assistant secretary of the Board, to call the roll.
B. Roll Call
The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of the roll: Mira Ball (chair), Stephen Branscum, E. Britt Brockman, Penelope Brown, Jo Hern Curris, Dermontti Dawson, Ann Haney, James Hardymon, Everett McCorvey, Billy Joe Miles, W. Tyler Montell, Sandy Bugie Patterson, Phillip Patton, Charles R. Sachatello, Frank Shoop, JoEtta Wickliffe, Russ Williams, and Ernest Yanarella. Absent from the meeting were Pamela May and Erwin Roberts. A quorum was present.
The university administration was represented by President Lee T. Todd, Jr., Provost Kumble Subbaswamy, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration Frank Butler, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs Michael Karpf, and General Counsel Barbara W. Jones.
The university faculty was represented by Chair of the University Senate Council David Randall, and the university staff was represented by Chair of the Staff Senate Bart Miller.
Members of the various news media were also in attendance.
C. Consent Items
Ms. Ball called attention to the consent items on the agenda which included the minutes, personnel actions, and three items listed in the Finance Committee Report. She asked if there were any questions or corrections. Dr. Sachatello moved approval. Mr. Branscum seconded the motion, and it carried without dissent. (See consent items listed below at the end of the agenda.)
Minutes - October 14, 2008 PR 2   Personnel Actions FCR 1 Alltech, Inc. Pledge
FCR 2 Barnstable Brown Party Diamond Derby, Inc. Gift and Pledge FCR 3 HGG Family Foundation Pledge