Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of
Kentucky, Tuesday, September 20, 1994.

       The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m.
(Lexington time) on Tuesday, September 20, 1994 in the Board Room on the
18th floor of Patterson Officer Tower.

      A.    Meeting Opened

      Governor Edward T. Breathitt, Chairperson, called the meeting to
order at 1:00 p.m.. and the invocation was pronounced by Mrs. Marian Sims.

       B. Roll Call

       The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call of
the roll: Governor Edward T. Breathitt (Chairperson), Mr. Ted Bates, Mrs.
Kay Shropshire Bell, Mr. Paul W. Chellgren, Mr. Robert N. Clay, Mrs. James
F. Hardymon, Mr. Thomas Arthur Jones, Dr. Deborah Powell, Mr. Steven S.
Reed, Mr. C. Frank Shoop, Mrs. Marian Sims, Professor John Sistarenik, Mr.
Daniel C. Ulmer. Mrs. Lois C. Weinberg, and Mr. Billy B. Wilcoxson. Absent
from the meeting were Dr. Robert P. Meriwether, Mrs. Elissa Plattner, and
Mr. Martin Welenken. The University Administration was represented by
President Charles T. Wethington, Jr.; Chancellors Ben W. Carr, Jr., Robert
E. Hemenway, and James W. Holsinger, Jr.; Vice Presidents Joseph T. Burch,
Edward A. Carter, and Eugene Williams; Robert Lawson, Assistant to the
President for Administrative Affairs; George DeBin. Assistant to the
President for Fiscal Affairs; Dr. Juanita Fleming, Special Assistant for
Academic Affairs; and Mr. Paul Van Booven, Associate General Counsel.

      Members of the general public and the news media were also in
attendance. A quorum being present, Governor Breathitt declared the meeting
rfficially open for the conduct of business at 1:04 p.m.

       C.    Approval of Minutes

       Governor Breathitt stated that the Minutes of the August 16. 1994
meeting had been distributed and asked for a motion of approval. On motion
made by Mrs. Bell, seconded by Mr. Shoop and carried, the Minutes were

       D.    Nomination of Officers and Executive Committee

       Under the Governing Regulations, officers of the Board and the
Executive Committee are elected annually at the September meeting. Governor
Breathitt called upon Mrs. Bell to preside and receive the report of the
Nominating Committee. Mr. Wilcoxson, Chairperson of the Nominating
Committee, placed the following slate of officers for 1994-95 in nomination:

             Edward T. Breathitt, Chairperson
             Robert P. Meriwether, Vice Chairperson
             Lois C. Weinberg, Secretary
             Richard E. Plymale, Assistant Secretary