Mayor Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government
II. FOSTER PETTIT served two years as mayor of the City of Lexington and was a leader in the consolidation of the city and county governments. He was elected mayor of the Urban County Government in November 1973.
President of the Kentucky Municipal League for 1976, Mayor Pettit is also active with the U. S. Conference of Mayors and the National League of Cities. He was awarded the Optimist Cup in 1976 and the Chamber of Commerce Citizen-of-the-Ycar citation for 1975.
As chief executive of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government, the mayor is authorized to supervise, administer and control all departments of government.
The mayor is elected on a non-partisan basis every four years. He is responsible for the proper administration of all services of the government. He is assisted principally by the Chief Administrative Officer and commissioners of the six departments.
A native of Lexington, he is an attorney who served three terms as a state representative. He resides on Richmond Road with his wife, Marion, and four sons.
Governor of the Commonwealth of Kentucky
JULIAN MORTON CARROLL became Kentucky's 58th governor on December 28, 1974, succeeding Wendell H. Ford, who was elected to the U. S. Senate. Carroll then won a full four-year term in the 1975 general election. Born in McCracken County in 1931, he attended Paducah Junior College after graduating from Heath High School. He was graduated from the University of Kentucky in 1954 and received his law degree from UK in 1956. Before becoming governor, Carroll served three years as lieutenant governor and ten years as a member of the Kentucky House of Representatives. He is an active member of the Optimist Club and a former Jaycee. He attained the highest office in Kentucky for laymen of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in 1966-67 when he was named moderator of the Kentucky Synod. The Governor and his wife, Charlann, have four children.