Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the
University of Kentucky, Tuesday, April 4, 1989.

       The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1
p.m. Lexington time on Tuesday April 4, 1989 in the Board Room on the
18th floor of the Patterson Office Tower on the Lexington Campus.

      A.   Meeting Opened

      Mr. Foster Ockerman, Sr., Chairman, called the meeting to order
at 1:02 p.m., and the invocation was pronounced by Mr. Ted Bates.

       B.   Roll Call

       The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the
call of the roll: Mr. Foster Ockerman, Sr. (Chairman), Mr. Ted B.
Bates, Professor Raymond F. Betts, Mr. William E. Burnett, Jr.,
Professor Mary Sue Coleman, Professor David R. Driscoll, Jr., Mr.
Tracy Farmer, Senator Walter D. Huddleston, Dr. Nicholas J. Pisacano,
Mr. James A. Rose (James), Mr. James L. Rose (Jim), Judge Robert F.
Stephens, Mr. Jerome A. Stricker, Mr. William B. Sturgill, Mr. Billy
B. Wilcoxson, and Judge Henry R. Wilhoit, Jr.. Absent from the
meeting were Governor Albert B. Chandler, Mr. Lawrence E. Forgy Jr.,
Mrs. Edythe Jones Hayes, and Judge Julia K. Tackett. The University
administration was represented by President David P. Roselle;
Chancellors Peter P. Bosomworth, Art Gallaher and Charles T.
Wethington; Vice Presidents Edward A. Carter, Wimberly C. Royster and
Eugene R. Williams; and Mr. John C. Darsie, General Counsel.

       Members of the news media were also in attendance. Mr. Darsie
reported a quorum present, and Mr. Ockerman declared the meeting
officially open for the conduct of business at 1:05 p.m.

       C.   Minutes Approved

       Mr. Ockerman stated that the Minutes of the March 7, 1989 Board
of Trustees meeting and the Minutes of the March 22, 1989 Executive
Committee meeting had been distributed and asked for questions,
comments or corrections. The Minutes of both meetings were approved
as written.

       D. Revised Committee Appointments for 1988-89

       Mr. Ockerman informed the Board that he had made appointments
to the following Committees:

             Finance Qgmmittep            Investment Committee

             Foster Ockerman, Sr.         William E. Burnett, Jr.
             William B. Sturgill

       Mr. Ockerman stated that Mr. Stricker had expressed the need
for more people on the Investment Committee and indicated that he
would take the request into consideration.