Minutes of the Meeting ofthe Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday,
February 22, 2011.
The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00 p.m. (Lexington time)
on Tuesday, February 22, 2011 in the Board Room on the 18m Floor of Patterson Office Tower.
A. Meeting Opened
Dr. E. Britt Brockman, chair ofthe Board, called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m. He
asked Ms. Pam May, secretary ofthe Board, to call the roll.
B. Roll Call
The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call ofthe roll: E. Britt
Brockman (chair), Sheila Brothers, Penelope Brown, Jo Hem Curris, William S. Farish, Jr,
Oliver Keith Gannon, Carol Martin "Bill” Gatton, Pamela T. May, Everett McCorvey, Billy Joe
Miles, Teny Mobley, Sandy Bugie Patterson, Joe Peek, Erwin Roberts, Charles R. Sachatello,
Frank Shoop, Ryan Smith, James W. Stuckert, and Barbara Young. Dennontti Dawson was not
present at the meeting. Ms. May announced that a quorum was present.
The university administration was represented by President Lee T. Todd, Jr., Provost
Kumble Subbaswamy, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration Frank Butler,
Executive Vice President for Health Affairs Michael Karpft and General Counsel Barbara W.
The university faculty was represented by Chair of the University Senate Council Hollie
Swanson, and the university staff was represented by Chair ofthe Staff Senate Jann Burks.
Members ofthe various news media were also in attendance.
C. Consent Items
Dr. Brockman called attention to the three consent items. They included the minutes for
the December 7, 2010 meeting of the Board, PR 2, which deals with personnel actions, and FCR
1, a gift from the estate of John W. Denton, FCR 3, a gift from E.ON U.S., FCR 3, which deals
with the creation of a Human Development Institute Fund for Excellence Quasi-Endowment,
FCR 4, gifts and pledges from Don L. Jacobs, Sr., and the Don Jacobs Charitable Foundation,
Inc., and FCR 5, a gift from the Kentucky Christian Foundation. Ms. Brothers moved for
approval and was seconded by Mr. Stuckert. The motion carried without dissent. (See consent
items listed below at the end of these Minutes.)
Minutes — December 7, 2010
PR 2 Personnel Actions
FCR 1 Gift from the Estate of John W. Denton
FCR 2 Gift from E.ON U.S.