U The University of Kentucky is located at Lexington, an urban
i community of about 65,000 population. It is a state supported
.} institution operated under the direction of a board of trustees of
  fifteen members. The membership of this board includes the
  Governor, the Superintendent of Public Instruction, and the Com-
`Q? missioner of Agriculture, ex officio, and twelve members appointed
  by the Governor, three of whom are alumni of the University and
$1 three, members of the State Board of Agriculture. The Univer-
  sity is one of a number of institutions known as land-grant colleges,
  which were established by the Morrill Act of 1862 and which have
ii continued to receive federal assistance under the provisions of
  this and subsequent laws relating to the teaching of agriculture
_, and the mechanic arts and the provision of agricultural experiment
stations and extension services in agriculture and home economics.
The University of Kentucky is on the approved list of the
Association of American Universities, and is a member of the
l Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools and the
Kentucky Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools. It is
accredited in its respective colleges or departments by the Associa-
_ tion of American Law Schools, the American Association of Col-
  legiate Schools of Business, the American Association of Schools
s and Departments of Journalism, the American Library Association,
, the National Association of Schools of Music, and the Engineers’
1 Council for Professional Development.
The major function of the University is that of instruction.
` For the performance of this function it is organized into the Col-
lege of Arts and Sciences, the College of Agriculture and Home
Economics, the College of Engineering, the College of Law, the
College of Education, the College of Commerce, the Graduate
- School, and a Department of University Extension. Residence
instruction is given through four quarters, the summer quarter
being divided into two terms.
In addition to giving instruction to its student body, the Uni-
versity contributes to the welfare of the state through research,
experimentation, and public service. While all departments make
important contributions along these lines, certain divisions and
bureaus have been established specifically for these purposes.
Included in this group are the Experiment Station and the Exten-
sion Division of the College of Agriculture and Home Economics,
_ the Bureau of Business Research, the Bureau of Govemment
Research, the Bureau of School Service, the Bureau of Source
Materials in Higher Education, the Teachers Placement Bureau,