Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the
University of Kentucky, Tuesday, March 2, 1993.

        The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00
p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, March 2, 1993 in the Board Room on the
18th floor of Patterson Office Tower.

        A.      Meeting Opened

        Governor Edward T. Breathitt, Chairperson, called the meeting to
order at 1:00 p.m., and the invocation was pronounced by Mr. William B.

         B.      Roll Call

         The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the call
of the roll: Governor Edward T. Breathitt (Chairperson), Professor
Carolyn S. Bratt, Mr. Paul Chellgren, Mr. Robert Clay, Mr. James
Hardymon, Dr. Robert P. Meriwether, Mr. Peter November, Dr. Elissa
Plattner, Dr. Deborah Powell, Mr. C. Frank Shoop, Mrs. Marian Moore Sims,
Professor John Sistarenik, Jr., Mr. William B. Sturgill, Mr. Daniel C.
Ulmer, Jr., Mrs. Lois Combs Weinberg, Mr. Billy B. Wilcoxson, and Judge
Henry R. Wilhoit, Jr. Absent from the meeting were Mrs. Kay Shropshire
Bell, Mr. Henry Jackson, and Mr. James L. Rose. The University
administration was represented by President Charles T. Wethington, Jr.;
Chancellors Peter P. Bosomworth, Ben W. Carr, Jr., and Robert E.
Hemenway; Vice Presidents Joseph T. Burch, Edward A. Carter, Donald B.
Clapp, Linda J. Magid, and Eugene R. Williams; Dr. Juanita Fleming,
Special Assistant for Academic Affairs; Mr. C. M. Newton, Athletics
Director, Mr. John C. Darsie, Legal Counsel.

         Members of the general public and the news media were also in
attendance. A quorum being present, Governor Breathitt declared the
meeting officially open for the conduct of business at 1:04 p.m.

         C.      Approval of Minutes

         Governor Breathitt stated that the Minutes of the January 19,
1993 meeting had been distributed and asked for additions or
corrections. On motion made by Mr. Shoop, seconded by Mr. Chellgren and
carried, the Minutes were approved as distributed.

                 President's Report to the Trustees (PR 1)

         President Wethington commented on the following items in PR 1:

         1.      The administrative/academic building at Madisonville
                 Community College has been expanded and named in honor
                 of the late John H. Gray, a Madisonville businessman who
                 was chair of the college's Advisory Board at the time of
                 his death in 1991. A rededication and naming ceremony
                 was conducted February 23.