xt7k9882nv1v https://exploreuk.uky.edu/dips/xt7k9882nv1v/data/mets.xml University of Kentucky. University Senate University of Kentucky. Faculty Senate Kentucky University of Kentucky. University Senate University of Kentucky. Faculty Senate 1976-10-11  minutes 2004ua061 English   Property rights reside with the University of Kentucky. The University of Kentucky holds the copyright for materials created in the course of business by University of Kentucky employees. Copyright for all other materials has not been assigned to the University of Kentucky. For information about permission to reproduce or publish, please contact the Special Collections Research Center. University of Kentucky. University Senate (Faculty Senate) records Minutes (Records) Universities and colleges -- Faculty University of Kentucky University Senate (Faculty Senate) meeting minutes, October 11, 1976 text University of Kentucky University Senate (Faculty Senate) meeting minutes, October 11, 1976 1976 1976-10-11 2020 true xt7k9882nv1v section xt7k9882nv1v W‘_-.—~mI;:»_—«~—..~nvm-=e:znm """" *rr‘!""'"""""."~'~0~.-v-- - - . -‘"'"""“ “""""' ' " ' ’


Minutes of the University Senate, October 11, 1976 4092

Minutes of the University Senate , October 11, 1976

The University Senate met in regular session at 3:00 p.m. , Monday, October
11, 197 6 , in the Court Room of the Law Building. Chairman Malcolm Jewell pre-
sided. Members absent: Gerald G. Ashdown*, Ruth Assell*, Lisa K. Barclay*,
Charles E. Barnhart, R. Paul Baumgartner* , Robert P. Belin*, Jack C. Blanton ,
Wilbur C. Blout*, Richard R. C1ayton*, Lewis W. Cochran*, Glenn B. Collins,
Ronda S. Connaway*, Samuel F. Conti, Donald P. Cross, Nancy Daly*, Guy M.
Davenport*, William H. Dennen*, Marcus L. Dillon*, Herbert N. Drennon, Anthony
Eardley, Bruce S. Eastwood*, W. W. Ecton*, Calvin E. Ernst*, Kathryn Fair ,
R. Fletcher Gabbard* , Claudine Gartner*, James L. Gibson, Abner Golden, Merlin
Hackbart* , Joseph Hamburg, Thomas Hansbrough, Andrew J. Hiatt*, Beth Hicks*,
Raymond R. Hornback, Raymon D. Johnson*, Robert W. Kiser*, James A. Knoblett*,
Thomas P. Lewis , John Lihani*, Austin S. Litvak*, William E. Lyons*, James R.
Marsden*, Kenneth M. Martin*, Levis D. McCullers*,Susan A. McEvoy*, Marion
E. McKenna* , Gwen E. Mead* , Bill Miracle*, Jacqueline A. Noonan*, Terry Norris*,
Elbert W. Ockerman*, Merrill W. Packer*, Doyle E. Peaslee*, Anna K. Reed,
Robert W. Rudd* , John S . Scarborough , D. Milton Shuffett*, Gerard E. Silberstein,
Otis A. Singletary, John T. Smith*, John B. Stephenson, Marjorie S. Stewart*,
William J. Stober* , Joseph V. Swintosky*, Leonard P. Tipton*, Lee T . Todd ,
Marion Wade* , Thomas J. Waldhart , M. Stanley Wall, Constance P. Wilson*,
Judith Worell*, Fred Zechman , Norman F. Billups*.

The minutes of the regular meeting of September 13, 1976, were accepted
as circulated With the correction of deleting Tom Clark's name from the members
absent list and replacing Dr. Clawson's name with Dr. Bosomworth's in the last
line of the third paragraph on page 9.

Chairman Jewell presented the following Memorial Resolution on the death of
William F. Starr. Dr. Jewell directed that the Resolution be made part of these
minutes and that copies be provided to the members of Professor Starr's immedi-
ate family. Following Dr. Jewell's presentation of the Resolution the Senators
were asked to stand for a moment of silence in tribute and respect of Professor

Professor William F. Starr died on August 29, 1976,
after a very short illness . He joined the faculty of the
College of Business and Economics in 1967 to start a
new career after having retired as a Colonel in the U.S .
Army with a service of 25 years .

A native of Peoria, Illinois , he graduated from West
Point in 1941 and received his master's degree from
Harvard in 19 50. Colonel Starr was a veteran of World
War II , attend the U.S. Army War College in 1955 ,
served as Commander of the Piramens Army Depot in
Germany from 1956 to 1958 and also served as chief
of staff with the U. S. Army Plans and Systems Divi—
sion from 1962 to 1963. He was commanding officer
of the Lexington Blue Grass Depot from 1963 to 1965.

*Ab s ence explained



 ‘ "““W- ~ ‘-=~‘-‘w-«:-.v