Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the
University of Kentucky, Tuesday, October 22, 1991.

       The Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met at 1:00
p.m. (Lexington time) on Tuesday, October 22, 1991 in the Board Room
on the 18th floor of Patterson Office Tower on the Lexington Campus.

       A.    Meeting Opened and Roll Call

       Mr. Foster Ockerman, Chairman, called the meeting to order at
1:00 p.m., and the invocation was pronounced by Professor Judith

       The following members of the Board of Trustees answered the
call of the roll: Mr. Foster Ockerman, (Chairman), Mrs. Kay
Shropshire Bell, Professor Raymond F. Betts, Professor Carolyn S.
Bratt, Mr. William E. Burnett, Jr., Mr. Scott A. Crosbie, Dr. Jack D.
Foster, Mrs. Edythe Jones Hayes, Professor Judith Rhoads, Mr. James L.
Rose, Mr. C. Frank Shoop, Mrs. Marian Moore Sims, Judge Robert F.
Stephens, and Mr. Billy B. Wilcoxson. Absent from the meeting were
Dr. Robert P. Meriwether, Mr. William B. Sturgill., Mr. Daniel C.
Ulmer, Jr. and Judge Henry R. Wilhoit, Jr. The University
administration was represented by President Charles T. Wethington,
Jr.; Chancellors Peter P. Bosomworth, Robert E. Hemenway, and Ben
Carr, Jr.; Vice Presidents Joseph T. Burch, Edward A. Carter, Donald
B. Clapp, Linda J. Magid and Eugene Williams; Dr. Juanita Fleming,
Special Assistant to the President for Academic Affairs; Mr. C. M.
Newton; and Mr. John C. Darsie, General Counsel.

       Members of the news media were also in attendance. A quorum
being present, the Chairman declared the meeting officially open for
the conduct of business at 1:00 p.m.

       B.   Minutes Approved

       Mr. Ockerman stated that the Minutes of the September 17, 1991
meeting had been distributed and asked for corrections or additions.
The Minutes were approved as circulated.

       C.    President's Report to the Trustees (PR 1)

       President Wethington reviewed some of the items in PR 1,
calling particular attention to the following:

       1.   Lexington businessman and University of Kentucky alumnus
             W. T. Young announced a contribution of $5 million to the
             Library Campaign. This is the largest gift ever to the
             University by an alumnus.

       2.   There are now University of Kentucky Fellows, persons who
             contribute $10,000 or more to the University, in each of
             the 48 contiguous states. The 260 new Fellows were
             honored at the annual dinner on October 18, bringing the
             number of Fellows to more than 2,800.