. . . The State Is Our Campus
Located in Lexington, an urban community of over 1 50,000 population in the heart of Kentucky's famed Blue Grass region, University of Kentucky is a state-supported, land-grant institution which celebrated its centennial year in 1965.
The present school, which currently enrolls about 1 8,000 students and offers instruction in 10 academic colleges plus a Graduate School and a division of Extended Programs, had its beginnings in 1 865 when it was established as a part of old Kentucky University. This action by the State Legislature united sectarian and public education under one organization for the first time. Federal funds authorized under the Morrill Act were used to develop agriculture and mechanical arts within KU and, in 1878, A&M College was separated from KU to become a separate state institution on the general site of what is now the 706-acre main campus. Name changes in 1908 and 1916 resulted in the title by which the school is now known.
A new chief administrative officer, Dr. John W. Oswald, took over reins of the University at the beginning of the 1963-64 school year. The 49-year-old new president, who succeeded Dr. Frank Dickey, has an athletic background including collegiate football play at DePauw and letters in basketball and track. He was selected on the Sports Illustrated Silver Anniversary All-America Team in 1962. Dr. Oswald, whose special field is plant pathology, came to Kentucky from a position as vice-president-administration, Statewide University, University of California.
The University is on the approved list of the Association of American Universities and is a member of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. It is fully accredited in its respective colleges and departments by all of the major professional societies and educational organizations.
Kentucky's athletic program, a well-balanced and ambitious activity featuring inter-collegiate competition in ten different sports, is organized under the Department of Athletics and a corporation known as the University of Kentucky Athletics Association.
The program is conducted without overemphasis or sacrifice of educational objectives and in strict compliance with the rules of the University, the Southeastern Conference and the National Collegiate Association.
A board of directors, headed by University President John W. Oswald in the capacity of chairman, maintains overall policy supervision of the athletic program. In addition to the UK President, board officers include Robert Johnson as vice-chairman and Dr. W. L. Matthews in the capacity of secretary. Fourteen other men, drawn from the University faculty and the general public, also serve on the board as appointees of the president as does a student representative.
Supervising the steady growth and balanced development of one of the nation's top athletic programs is Bernie A. Shively, a former Illinois grid All-American and a veteran of over 25 years in the post of Director of Athletics.
The Association's Board of Directors is composed of the following:
Dr. John W. Oswald, Chairman Robert Johnson, Vice-Chairman Dr. W. L. Matthews, Jr., Secretary Dr. Ralph Angelucci Prof. David Blythe Dr. Aubrey J. Brown
Dr. Loren Carlson Dr. Glen Creech Dr. Thomas Clark Dr. John Douglas Dr. Lyman Ginger Dr. A. D. Kirwan
Douglas Parrish Carson Porter
(Student) Dr. Douglas Schwartz James H. Pence Floyd Wright