I. University Research Professorships (PR 4)
President Todd next asked Dr. Jim Tracy, Vice President for Research, to assist in
announcing the University Research Professorships for 2011-12. Dr. Tracy expressed his
pleasure at being able to make these awards and stated that there were ten nominees this year,
which were peer reviewed by an ad hoc committee, and four were selected. These are
Karyn Esser Department of Physiology
Brandon Look Department of Philosophy
Gregory Smith Department of Psychology
Youling Xiong Department of Animal and Food Sciences
Upon Board approval, they will receive a one-year award of $40,000 and can use the title
of Research Professor throughout their future years at the university. He offered a brief
summary of the background and interests of each candidate as well as the research topic that will
be funded during their research professorship year. Each nominee received a round of applause.
President Todd recommended approval ofthe nominees. Dr. Brockman asked for a
motion of approval for PR 4. Mr. Stuckert moved approval. Ms. Curris seconded, and the
motion passed without dissent. (See PR 4 at the end of the Minutes.)
J. Establishment of Commonwealth Chair of Transportation Engineering (PR 5)
PR 5 establishes a Commonwealth Chair of Transportation Engineering in the College of
Engineering in conjunction with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet. The Secretary of
Transportation will provide $50,000 annually for five years, with the possibility of extension. The
funds will support the research and professional activities of a highly qualified civil engineering
faculty member. President Todd recommended that the board approve this resolution. Dr.
Brockman asked for a motion of approval for PR 5. Mr. Roberts so moved and Ms. Patterson
seconded. The motion passed without dissent. (See PR 5 at the end ofthe Minutes.)
K. Candidate for Degree (AACR 1)
Dr. Brockman passed the floor to Ms. Brown, chair of the Academic Affairs Committee,
for her report. The first action item ofthe committee was AACR 1, which lists a candidate for a
degree from the Summer Session of 2010. Ms. Brown moved acceptance of AACR 1. Mr.
Miles seconded her motion, and it passed without dissent. (See AACR 1 at the end of the
L. Candidates for Degree — Bluegrass Community and Technical College (AACR 2)
Ms. Brown said that the approval requested in AACR 2 may be the last under the 2004
agreement among the University of Kentucky, the Kentucky Community and Technical College
System, and Lexington Community College pursuant to House Joint Resolution 214. The
agreement states that LCC students who were or are officially enrolled on or before September